Crochet Spotlight: Edwardian Gowns, Part 3

Last month, I showcased two Edwardian style gowns from the Annie’s Attic Bridal Trousseau collection (1995). This month I have one more gown from that collection to show and then another Edwardian gown from the pattern collection that came out the following year, the Edwardian Lady Collection (1996).

Crochet Edwardian Gown for Fashion Doll, lt blue with white lace

Bridal Trousseau Collection

Crochet Edwardian Gown for Fashion Doll, lt blue with white lace-side view

Turn of the Century Afternoon Frock

This dress in shades of blue and white is definitely one of my favorites. I love the ribbed ruffle along the bottom, the ruffle neckline and especially the lace curls along the skirt.

The following year another Edwardian gown collection came out from Annie’s Attic and below is Miss October:

Crochet Edwardian Gown for Fashion Doll, aqua with black lace

Promenade Costume

Crochet Edwardian Gown for Fashion Doll, aqua with black lace

Edwardian Lady Collection

Crochet Edwardian Gown for Fashion Doll, aqua with black lace

This pattern originally called for pink thread with black accents, but I decided to go with aqua instead of pink (You may have noticed from some of my previous posts that I have a thing for aqua and black).

The major trim accent on this dress is crocheted cord. I love working with that. It’s easy to create and you can make it the exact length you need (no measuring/cutting necessary as with store-bought trim) and it also blends in well with the rest of dress beacuse it’s the same material, and it’s easy to make the ends look seamless.

I love the hat for this outfit. If you read my post about the Gone With the Wind dress with the feathers, you know how I feel about those 😀 but the hat shown here wasn’t too bad. I only needed to cut the boa once, so there wasn’t too much “debris” floating around afterward.

Many of my previous dress models have been blonds and brunettes, but I specifically chose a red haired doll to wear this outfit because I loved how her hair stands out against the aqua color.

Both of these patterns are out of print now, but you can find copies for sale on eBay and Etsy quite frequently.

